Quantcast

Is anybody else receiving odd e-mails from CB?

onegirlcreative's picture

I am getting e-mails supposedly from CreativeBits telling me that a post that I subscribed to has been updated, but when I click on the link, it brings me to a really weird site.

See below:

http://sh3.2bits.com/tier_3

What on earth is this site??? Is someone stealing the threads from CB and posting them on their own site? I'm not too happy about this.

Anybody know what gives?
Suzanne

onegirlcreative's picture

Oh, and I also noticed

that the threads are NOT recent. They're from 2007.

suzanne maestri-walters :: graphic designer :: www.onegirlcreative.com

onegirlcreative's picture

OK, now my inbox is filling up with this crap!!!

Ivan,

WTF is going on? Any ideas?

suzanne maestri-walters :: graphic designer :: www.onegirlcreative.com

natobasso's picture

This happened to me too.

This happened to me too. It's someone spamming old posts with their directory information. Just unsubscribe from those threads and report the spammer to Ivan (feedback link).

----
Powerpoint is not a design application

sidesey's picture

likewise

likewise, glad i am not alone....

onegirlcreative's picture

I can't even blacklist it

because it's the same e-mail address as CreativeBits. How are they able to do this??? I tried to go into my server and blacklist it, but if I did, then I wouldn't receive any legitimate e-mail from CB.

Do these people actually think we're stupid enough to sign up for their "copied" site??? Pathetic.

suzanne maestri-walters :: graphic designer :: www.onegirlcreative.com

Ivan's picture

My bad!

Hi guys! I'm so sorry, we've had a test site. No more emails. If that's not the case please let me know asap!

onegirlcreative's picture

Oh...so it is from you, Ivan?

I just received an e-mail about 15 minutes ago. Just so you know...

suzanne maestri-walters :: graphic designer :: www.onegirlcreative.com

kbahey's picture

Apologies

Sorry folks. We are testing some upgrades to the site, and the test system had email enabled. We disabled it and you should not get any emails from it again.

--
Drupal development and customization: 2bits.com
Personal: Baheyeldin.com

onegirlcreative's picture

Thanks!!!!

suzanne maestri-walters :: graphic designer :: www.onegirlcreative.com

sidesey's picture

got one three minutes ago, was that the last ;-)

got one three minutes ago, was that the last ;-)

GrAcUc79's picture

I got one too

Hey guys i received one today as well from creativebits.org the email stated:

Greetings, GrAcUc79.

A thread to which you have subscribed has been updated.
Take Out Menu

To view the thread, navigate to http://sh3.2bits.com/take_out_menu

--
This is an automatic message from creativebits.
To manage your subscriptions, browse to http://sh3.2bits.com/subscriptions

The link seemed very suspicious as if someone is phishing for our passwords. Glad to hear it was something Ivan does know about and not some hacker trying to get us.

FYI mine was sent at 2:30PM

mara06's picture

Got four of them earlier

Got four of them earlier today. Odd.

Mara

natobasso's picture

I got 104 emails. That was

I got 104 emails. That was some test! :)

----
Powerpoint is not a design application

onegirlcreative's picture

I received 17

Doesn't seem nearly as much as Nato's, but it was annoying, nevertheless.

suzanne maestri-walters :: graphic designer :: www.onegirlcreative.com

plugz's picture

Yup, just got two of them...

Yup, just got two of them...

kbahey's picture

Apologies again ...

Apologies again to all.

We are planning an upgrade for this site, and to do that, we don't want to mess with the live site. So we put a copy of the site on a test server to see how those upgrades will go. In the background, the subscription got triggered and emails started going out.

The last message went out of the test server at Mar 30 15:47:46 (Eastern Daylight time).

So, if you get other messages it has to be dated before that, and delayed somewhere between mail server. So, give it a day or two for those lost in the middle to trickle down.

--
Drupal development and customization: 2bits.com
Personal: Baheyeldin.com

natobasso's picture

Speaking of update/upgrade,

Speaking of update/upgrade, can we see a sneak peak? :)

----
Powerpoint is not a design application

kbahey's picture

Nothing to show yet

There is not much to show yet.

--
Drupal development and customization: 2bits.com
Personal: Baheyeldin.com

User login

Partner With Us













Latest critique

...it could be worse.