OEM software?
iestynx (74 points) | Mon, 2008-11-17 14:35I received an email about this site http://oem-network.net/ selling OEM versions of software.
What is this and is it legal? Paying $299 for the CS4 Master Collection seems unreal, and I know the old saying about if something's too good to be true then it is.
It says in the FAQ that they buy the software at some auctions and that you won't be able to register them online, and with Adobe software this is what is required, so what is the point, will the software work?
Commenting on this Forum topic is closed.
you received random spam emails. and no, it's too good to be true and you will not be buying legitimate licensed copies of adobe software. which explains why you wouldn't be able to register them.
btw, as far as i know, there's no such thing as "OEM" versions of creative suite.
If there's an email sender you don't recognize, don't even bother, just delete it. if it was legitimate, you'd know who was sending it.
NOTE: Some spammer's/scammers are wising up to this tactic and hijacking people's email address to send spam with, so the recipient see's a name they recognize and open it, it triggers the spam to be sent in thier name. embarrassing at the least, harmfull to your data at the worst. I had this happen to me with my yahoo mail account that I keep for family to send junk to. I only caught it because I had some addresses in my contact list that were that no longer valid and so recieved "Returned" emails containing the spam with my email adress right on it.
Chats and IM's like Yahoo especially are a HUGE security risk. They're an open door into your computer.
"...and mamma cried: Watch out where the huskies go, don't you eat that yellow snow" - Frank Zappa