viral marketing site for upcoming Pixar film
ssarts (51 pencils) | Thu, 2007-12-27 20:59This site serves as the viral marketing site for the upcoming 2008 Pixar offering "WALL•E". It has some nice design and of course has something to do with apple, so I thought I'd share it here. I don't have anything to do with the design of the site, so hopefully this doesn't spin off into some crazy discussion like the Claus '08 christmas card site critique.
Enjoy
Commenting on this Forum topic is closed.

Ha ha ha. Claus08.
These should go in weblink. Still waiting for site to load... zzzzzzz...Mmm yeah, this is a dumb company marketing site. Nice spam.
----
Powerpoint is not a design application
----
Dirt and Rust
You're probably right about the weblink as opposed to forum topic. That would probably be a better place for my original post.
You're wrong about it being spam though. Maybe you should check your internet connection. The site comes up just fine for me. I don't work for Pixar or have anything to do with the site that I posted a link to. This site is an "Apple oriented design community" correct? Cause last time I checked Steve Jobs had a little bit to do with Pixar, not to mention how awesome the pixar team is creatively. Check the site out again and enjoy it for what it is, which is definitely not a dumb company marketing site. Do you really think buynlarge is a real company??
-Shawn
http://www.ssarts.com
If you still think the site is just some company marketing site, read the whois:
Registrant:
Disney Enterprises, Inc.
500 S. Buena Vista Street
Burbank, CA 91521
US
Domain name: BUYNLARGE.COM
-Shawn
http://www.ssarts.com
Well, the registrant can be EASILY faked. Why would Disney do this? It's way too subtle for them...
I went through the site and it's VERY elaborate. Could be disney, and with the Pix-(something) 4D animation studios, looks like a dead-on spoof of pixar. :)
I'm sorry to have doubted you. How did you find out about this site?
----
Powerpoint is not a design application
----
Dirt and Rust
J J Abrams is at it again (remember the fake 'vacancy ads' on the "Lost" Viral site for the Dharma initiative?) well here's SLUSHO! http://www.slusho.jp/
Its a viral site for the new "Cloverfield" Movie. . . ain't the Japanese weird?!
http://www.cloverfieldmovie.com/
lol
"Try not, Do! or do not, there is no try."
-Yoda
I'm guessing that it will become more blatant as the movie premier nears. (total speculation on my part) Either that, or they needed an outlet for all the crazy ideas that didn't make it to the final cut of the movie. You're right though, It is pretty subtle. And that's what I love about it! Some of the content is really funny. Especially the info at the bottom of the page about any information that's submitted to buynlarge. Good stuff.
Anyway, I stumbled upon the link to this site from the unofficial pixar blog:
http://pixarblog.blogspot.com/
The art and technology of Pixar films just amazes me.
-Shawn
http://www.ssarts.com
Well, it technically is spam in a way. ;) But it's fun spam. I love their little subtleties on the web site... like the 2057 copyright at the bottom. You definitely would think this was some real business' web site selling real items until you read into more.
Reminds me in ways of the pitch that the Blair Witch Project did... built up a web site and hyped things up for people before they saw the movie.